beacons (Pieps freeride??)

Yak away here, please! This category is for random discussions, comments, and anything but the topics shown above.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

camhard

beacons (Pieps freeride??)

Post by camhard »

I know that there are better forums like tgr and telemark tips or the canadian avalanche association web-site, but i thought i would throw this out here.
I am pretty new to backcountry travel on snow and will be needing my first beacon for the coming season. i am well aware that the best beacon is the one that works best for the user and all that. i am not looking to these sorts of answers. nor am i looking for completely objective information (i understand the technical info i can get from the manufacturers, so just relisting the features doesnt really help). what i would like are personal opinions, either from experience, or what you have heard or read. i could like something light, but function is much more important. i am not particularly interested in the tracker/tracker II. I am willing to put in the time to understand the more complex transceivers of they will suit me best. I dont think i will be in particularly large groups, and most definately hope i never have to deal with multiple burials.
i have also considered the moral issues around the pulse an S1, but feel free to comment on such topics if you feel it is important.