Advice on starting a ski building business?

Yak away here, please! This category is for random discussions, comments, and anything but the topics shown above.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

petemorgan(pmoskico)

Advice on starting a ski building business?

Post by petemorgan(pmoskico) »

I have been building skis for a couple years now as a hobby, and as a side business to my regular job as an CNC programmer in aerospace manufacturing.

I have been playing around with the idea of opening up a legitimate ski building operation and I was wondering if you guys had any advice for me.

What types of industry regulations do I have to comply with? Where can I find this information?

Are there ASTM standards that the skis have to comply with?

Are there safety tests that the skis have to undergo?

Are there patents on certain types of manufacturing equipment or ski designs that I should watch out for?

Any advice on working with insurance for manufacturing sporting equipment that people could potentially get hurt using?

What other questions should I be asking?

Thanks
MontuckyMadman

Post by MontuckyMadman »

don't make your tip and tail 5mm thick.
get general product liability for skis. will cost you $3500-5K per year.
Every rocker camber shape profile is already patented so you will be in violation on virtually anything you make.
Unless you think you will be grossing over 30K a year at this, don't bother IMO.
Market saturation is a real thing.
sammer wrote: I'm still a tang on top guy.
knightsofnii

Post by knightsofnii »

everyone seriously wants your product, but only a fraction of a percent of them will pull the trigger.
Alot of them want it for free, alot more want it heavily discounted.
If you figure out how to sell them to strangers, your friends will come around too ;).
Doug
skidesmond

Post by skidesmond »