pneumatic ski press help

For discussions related to designing and making ski/snowboard-building equipment, such as presses, core profilers, edge benders, etc.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

fouldsys

pneumatic ski press help

Post by fouldsys »

so im new to ski building and im looking for some plans or even a diagram or picture i can follow to build a ski press. im hoping to make one thats lightweight(less than 300lbs), as cheap as possible, and needs easily available materials. im leaning towards a wooden one, or maybe one like the one on the howto page. any help is appreciated.
bluedog

pneumatic ski press help

Post by bluedog »

Have built a press that weighs less than 100lb (just) but it does not use air. It uses 20 bolts along each side with wooden bars doing the pressing. Have to shape the wooden cross bars near the tip and tail which is the only tedious bit, but it works and was cheap! It was welded up from 2 short bits of solid C-channel with two bits of angle iron on each side to put the bolts into - will try and get you a photo soon. It works!!!!!!
plywood

Post by plywood »

my pressframe weights about 500g or so, can be folded together and i have no idea how much it would have cost - it`s made out of cloth. the cheapest and lightest way of building a press frame:

this is a pic of my old construction. i`m just sewing a new "frame" for the new mold, so more pics to come
plywood freeride industries - go ply, ride wood!
bluedog

Post by bluedog »

You win on the lightness factor - I dont think my sewing would handle the pressure! I am still trying to avoid the pneumatic hose thing as I have seen many failures in the discharge hoses that many seem to be using. We use lots of it where I work.
plywood

Post by plywood »

the sewing is not a big deal as long as you can use a sewing machine - just sew 15 times throug it and you`ll be fine. the pressure isn`t that high as it gets distributed over a huge area.
hydrant71