Long Fat Stiff Boards

For discussions related to designing and making ski/snowboard-building equipment, such as presses, core profilers, edge benders, etc.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

Grizzly Adams

Long Fat Stiff Boards

Post by Grizzly Adams »

howdy,

I'm a mechanical engineering undergrad and I decided that instead of getting a meaningful internship this summer, I'm going to mooch off of my generous parents and build skis in their garage this summer. It was a tough decision, but I'm going to brand it as a independent research project of sorts and hopefully learn a bundle while I'm at it. That said, I'm absolutely STOKED.

Given that I've never built a pair of my own boards before (though I'm somewhat handy and I've been combing these boards with a fine toothed comb), I've got a hand full of questions. First I'll give you a smidgen of background:

I grew up skiing the ice coast, but my parents just moved out west. I did a little racing in my childhood and I'm used to real stiff, long boards. Being out west lately I've gotten to ski some extra deep stuff and I picked up a pair of long powder boards off SteepandCheap. They've been pretty glorious, but why not build myself (and all my buddies) a pair of pro-model skis?

It seems like most of the folks in the forum are tele-skiers, has anyone had experience building longer/stiffer/fatter boards? I'm beginning to think about acquiring tools and materials and I'm a bit concerned about the logistics of finding materials and pressing gnargantuan (read: gnarly and gargantuan) skis. Can anyone think of possible problems I should be looking to solve ahead of time while I'm acquiring materials?

rock on,

Grizz
Its a good thing cold smoke doesn't give you cancer.
G-man

Post by G-man »

Hey Grizz,

Welcome, and glad to hear you scoured the threads before getting down to the nitty-gritty questions.