Vacuum press help

For discussions related to designing and making ski/snowboard-building equipment, such as presses, core profilers, edge benders, etc.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

ablanchard

Vacuum press help

Post by ablanchard »

Hello all,
I am just starting out to make snowboards and I have a few questions reguarding the vacuum press method. What are some requirements for a vacuum pump? I have heard alot about using fridge pumps from this site and a few other sites and I still am unclear on how that works. Do you need a old fridge that you are no longer going to use and remove the pump?
I am looking at some pumps on e-bay and I just want to make sure that I get one that will do the job. what are some specifications that the pump should meet. Besides the pump what are some other matirials that I will need?
If someone could describe the process of making a complete vacuum press that would be great :D

Thanks!
bigKam
Site Admin

Post by bigKam »

Hi ablanchard:

Welcome to the forum. It was good to speak with you over the phone about your project today. I think the vacuum press is a good option for making snowboards. Have a look at http://www.joewoodworker.com/veneering/welcome.htm for some ideas.

If you decide on a pneumatic press, search the forum for ideas. There are a number of great designs out there!

Keep us posted on your project. Good luck.
Yuki_otoko

Post by Yuki_otoko »

I have been using a vacuum set up consisting of a fridge compressor.
It works well, and is very quiet (can run it overnight). It is able to pull around 25 inches of mercury. Also they take up little space and are cheap to make. I got my first pump from a appliance store. They sometimes remove the old fridges when they deliver the new ones. Most of the time the pump is still fine but something else has gone.

*I have a few sites to post but because Im online a recent member of the forum it wont let me post them within my first two posts
Yuki_otoko