Ski build before retirement

Document your personal work here. Show photos, movies, and share your secrets.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

OAC

Ski build before retirement

Post by OAC »

Hi people!

I'm an old fart soon turning 50! (What happened? I was 20 yesterday!...) And the goal has turned from just doing it to doing it before fifty...or so...anyway.
I have finally got some speed in the process of making own skis! I've been shadowing you all for about 2 years now. I started out very enthusiastic and was thinking that it woudn't take longer than a couple of months!! But I got stucked somewhere between making a perfect template and cutting/shapeing the core in a quick and reliable way. Another big issue has been the tools. Buy good and well known brands of tools! Buying cheap stuff always breaks and slow you down. Not saying that you should buy expensive stuff. But there is some relation there...I've been there! I'm on my third planer, second jigsaw, second router and so on...the tablesaw is broken but I fixed it. The saw blade on the circular saw is changed to a "expensive" one, what a change!

Regarding the template, I cheated... :oops: . I got it CNC'ed professionally. Otherwise I have had gone nuts without having a nice smooth "edge line" along the ski. Cutting it with a jigsaw wasn't that fun...so to speak.
The core issue is presented in the "tool and equipment" forum.

In an early stage I decided to go with vacuum instead of mechanical press. I had some different approaches with the mold, but ended up with the "333" type of mold and bagging. A steel sheet shaped as the ski. And a plastic tube as a vacuum bag. This method dosen't take up that much space either. Which is good.

My setup.