Yak away here, please! This category is for random discussions, comments, and anything but the topics shown above.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

twizzstyle

Post by twizzstyle »

Some of you may not care about this, but this is my day job, and I always like to share about it.

I am a flight test engineer at the Boeing Company, and today we received certification of the 787 from the FAA. This is a HUGE deal. I have been working on this airplane heavily for the last 5 years, doing testing for everything from developing control systems for the airplane on a 777, to simulation, to ground testing, and finally flight testing. In the ~1.5 years since we started flying, I've been on 120 flights, all of which have been exciting, challenging, and fun.

I'm feeling pretty proud today!

This is my office in the sky...

OAC

Post by OAC »

Ok, this is my workplace:

And this is the cockpit:

If I could switch job with you twizz, just for an hour, I should do it!! You lucky b.....
jvangelder

Post by jvangelder »

good news, bunch of my family works on newer Boeing stuff, im fairly certain they have tentative contracts to make parts for the Dreamliner as well.

yey.
skidesmond

Post by skidesmond »

That's incredibly exciting! I know my brother who is also a pilot would love a job like that. Glad you're living your dream! I'll forward your pics to him.

My work place looks like OACs. .... keyboards and terminals. Don't get me wrong it can be very challenging as well, but the excitement level can't compare to yours. Kudos!
COsurfer

Post by COsurfer »

Super cool twizz!
falls

Post by falls »

nice twizz. we got all the upholstery back for our cessna this week. new engine is going on in the next few weeks. then hopefully not too much longer til it's back in the air. no doubt could use some of the equipment in your "office" although I'm pretty sure your office wouldn't fit in the cabin of a 182!
Don't wait up, I'm off to kill Summer....
Brazen