Convert Stone grinder to Belt grinder

For discussions related to designing and making ski/snowboard-building equipment, such as presses, core profilers, edge benders, etc.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

ggardner90

Convert Stone grinder to Belt grinder

Post by ggardner90 »

i have a stone grinder with a 5.5in stone on it i think that there is a small depression in the stone and the bases are not coming out completely flat, there is a small strip down the center of the ski which does not go away.

there is a "depressor" on the back which looks like it is designed to flatten the stone, i cant seem to get it working but that is a different issue.

so my question is, and i am very new to base grinding and tuning in general, how difficult would it be to make this grinder use a belt instead of a stone. i want to make the switch because all the really nice grinders that i see use a belt. therefore i think that it would be better to use a belt.

any and all ideas would be greatly appreciated
twizzstyle

Post by twizzstyle »

Well they sort of serve two different purposes (as I understand, I'm no expert ski tuner, and I just have a belt grinder). For us home-builders, the belt grinder is for taking off lots of material quickly, and flattening the base. The stone is for final passes and putting the structure into the base prior to waxing.

Converting it to a belt may be a challenge though, depends on your fabricating skills. You could just swap the stone for a drum, and wrap it in sand paper, and you're good to go, but I'd worry that such a short length of belt may gum up and overheat too quick. Ideally you'd have some length of belt (my grinder uses something like 80" long belts), but that would require a second drum for the belt to go around, and then you'll need a way to adjust for belt skew, and it'll all have to fit within the water spraying area, etc...

Anything is possible with a little cutting and welding, but it might not be easy.