CAD drawings/designs

For discussions related to ski/snowboard construction/design methods and techniques.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

zachjowi

CAD drawings/designs

Post by zachjowi »

I am a nOOb here and I was wondering if any of you had some designs or drawings of skis or ski presses

thanks
G-man

Post by G-man »

Hi zachjowi,

It's pretty easy to tell that you are really excited about getting into ski building. We've all been there, too, and it's a great place. Rather than attempt to answer any of your specific questions myself, I'm instead going to make a suggestion based on what I've learned from my ski building experience thus far, with the hope that, in the long, run you'll come out further ahead.

Ski building is kinda odd in that, on a theoretical level, it's a pretty straight forward process, but then, in reality, it's incredibly involved. Just to give you an idea of how involved it can be, I have a step-by-step instruction manual (three-ring binder) that I have developed for my own process, and it involves over 200 critical steps in building a ski. I have 70 to 80 different templates, jigs, and special machines that I use in the process. I have spent almost a year, more than full time, refining my process and I feel I'm still a long ways from 'having it down'. But, that's just my approach to ski building. I must admit that there are guys building very nice looking skis who make the process look much less complicated than I do.