New to SkiBuilders and looking to build a hydraulic skipress

For discussions related to ski/snowboard construction/design methods and techniques.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

einan

New to SkiBuilders and looking to build a hydraulic skipress

Post by einan »

The article in Ski made me think. I am an Engineering student at Montana Tech and needed to come up with a project to design for class. What better than a press to make my own skis. I do have some questions right away. Is the press shaping the ski, or just providing the required pressure to allow the components to integrate?

Looks like I posted in the wrong spot. guess i ski green circles
bigKam
Site Admin

Post by bigKam »

einan,

welcome to SkiBuilders. Montana Tech is a nice school and great place to be.

the ski press is designed to uniformly press the ski materials (with epoxy) against a mold. the vertical profile of the mold follows that of a ski, so essentially the press is shaping the ski. when the expoxy cures, the ski materials take the shape of a ski, i.e., camber and tip/tail curvature.