SHIF ski werks

Document your personal work here. Show photos, movies, and share your secrets.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

SHIF

SHIF ski werks

Post by SHIF »

Greetings fellow ski builders. Although I've been designing and building skis since 2007, this is my first post in the Journals section. Shown here are two new designs for the 2014-15 season.

The pair on the left are my daily drivers. A conventional camber design with subtle early rise tip. Ski length = 185 cm, width = 135-98-125 mm, sidecut radius = 20.5 m, effective edge length = 160 cm, running length = 139 cm.

The pair on the right are my powder skis. Early rise tip and tail with moderate camber under foot. Ski length = 185 cm, width = 140-112-129 mm, sidecut radius = 24.5 m, effective edge length = 145 cm, running length = 111 cm.

Cores are full-length vertical laminated bamboo with Ipe wood sidewalls and P-tex tip/tail filler.
Composite are uni-glass, uni-carbon, and biaxial carbon.
Durasurf 4001 base with full-wrap edges.
Resin Research Composite Pro epoxy system.
Top sheets are sublimated PBT material by Chad at CODA, graphic designs by SHIF.
Base tuning expertly performed by Todd at 7even Skis in SLC.

ImageIMG_0434_DxO by SHIF ski, on Flickr

ImageIMG_0432_DxO by SHIF ski, on Flickr

ImageIMG_0433_DxO by SHIF ski, on Flickr

ImageIMG_0440_DxO by SHIF ski, on Flickr

Cheers,
SHIF
Last edited by SHIF on Fri Dec 17, 2021 3:55 pm, edited 7 times in total.
pmg

Post by pmg »

Hi,

looking great! I really like the camber/rocker combination on your daily driver, looks truly all-mountain.
SHIF

Post by SHIF »

Two new pairs for the 2015-16 ski season

Both pairs have conventional camber with subtle early rise tips. Ski lengths = 185 cm, effective edge lengths = 160 cm, running lengths = 139 cm.
The Flamers: width = 136-95-125 mm, sidecut radius = 18.5 m, mounted with Rossi Axial 2 bindings.