Sounder Snow Craft

Document your personal work here. Show photos, movies, and share your secrets.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

stormyclouds

Sounder Snow Craft

Post by stormyclouds »

Hi everybody. I've been following this site for close to 5 years and I want to thank everyone for this amazing resource. Last year I finally made my first snowboard after years of late nights conducting research as well as hundreds and hundreds of mental layups while laying awake at night.I have benefited from this site in so many ways and I feel it is my turn to contribute and add to the stoke!

Before building my own press I wanted to go through the process one time with the help of a friend who allowed me to make my first board at his house with his huge I-beam press and his molds. I am a fine woodworker by trade so all the other tools needed I already had and I was able to do the majority of the preparations at my own shop. Here is the only photo I can provide of board number 1.

158 cm
9.3m Sidecut
Smooth-on PCM 790 poured sidewalls
Clear topcoat
Poplar Core
Camber between the feet with early rise Tip
6.5mm at the center 2mm tip and tail

Flex came out perfect and rode really well. I had a few friends ride it to make sure I wasn't crazy and all gave it the thumbs up. A few of them even said they wanted to buy one. It looked good for my first board but you could tell it was someones first but it was a great starting point and I was hooked instantly.

So over the last year a slowly started putting together my own press and it was finished in october ready for the winter.

I went with a beefed up version of Goz's press with 1.5" square tube .25" thick along the bottom and 1.5"/.25" angle iron on the top. Firehouse was supplied by Dtrain(thanks Derek!). Here are a few process shots of board two.

Press went perfectly! Base came out flat which was a big relief. Here are the stats:
155cm
26.4 Waist
306 Nose
294 Tail
9.23m Sidecut

Full wrap edges