park ski Edges

For discussions related to ski/snowboard construction/design methods and techniques.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

j-steezy763

park ski Edges

Post by j-steezy763 »

I'm a new builder havent made my first pair yet, but im wondering if anyone has tried a new aproach to doing there edges because me and all my friends have problems with them breaking, peaking, and coming out from sliding rails on our big manufacturers skis. solutions for when I'm building?
powdercow

Post by powdercow »

welcome steezy,

There are two ways to make your edges stronger:

1. Make them thicker. Depending on the skis you are riding the 1.3 mm* edges you buy from this site are likely to be thicker than those on production skis.

2. Make them stronger. Ski edges get measured in Rockwell units (higher number equals harder edges). If you get your edges directly from a manufacturer you can choose between different materials.

My recommendation would be to try the edges sold here and if you are still destroying them then work from there to try different things. Oh and how you setup your sidewall/cap can also change edge "strength".

* Edges are commonly identified by their step size, in other words what thickness of base they will work with. 1.3mm isn't a dimension you could measure on an already built pair of skis although the "height" of the edge would get you closest.
- Ben
Cadman

Post by Cadman »

The biggest edge I have seen so far is a SWD_SKI05 Edge that
has a height up the sidewall portion of 2.5mm, 2.0mm wide where it
meets the base, .7mm flange thickness and 7.8mm overall width.
The only problem is that it leaves a 1.8 depth which means that you
have to use thicker base material or something to fill the gap.

I don't know of anyone who is stocking these edges except for the
manufacturer.

http://www.metalldeutsch.com/english/start.html

Remember that if you use these thicker edges, you will have to adjust