Printers for sublimation

For discussions related to designing and making ski/snowboard-building equipment, such as presses, core profilers, edge benders, etc.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

fromdaalps

Printers for sublimation

Post by fromdaalps »

Hi all,

Long time lurker, first time poster here. What a great resource! Thanks to all who have contributed.

Here's my question that I couldn't find an answer via forum searches: Can anyone recommend a good printer for sublimation printing onto PBT topsheets? I've seen some professional wide-format models that retail for $10K upwards, so I wanted to see if anyone can potentially recommend a smaller and cheaper model for sublimation printing.

Thanks so much in advance,

Tim
littleKam
Site Admin

Post by littleKam »

Hey Tim,

I'm not a sublimation expert but I've heard that some of the lower costs Epsons (1280, r1800) can handle the sublimation inks. They also support roller feed paper so you can do a full length print of your ski/board. Of course you'll need some kind of heat press to transfer the inks onto your topsheet. Last time I checked the Epson 1280's were going for pretty cheap on Ebay (about $100). You should really double check the whole sublimation process before buying a printer though. Let us know how it turns out because I'm really interested in sublimating my graphics as well.
- Kam S Leang (aka Little Kam)
G-man

Post by G-man »

Hi Tim,

You might try a search at the grafsnowboards.com forum. I've read some pretty good discussions there in the last year, or so, on dye sub printers. As littleKam has indicated, the smaller Epsons will work, but many people who have tried using them report that they are very difficult to get working correctly.

G-man
team08

Post by team08 »