Some questions about ski design

For discussions related to ski/snowboard construction/design methods and techniques.

Moderators: Head Monkey, kelvin, bigKam, skidesmond, chrismp

Rui

Some questions about ski design

Post by Rui »

Hi,

I am new to ski design! I was thrilled when I saw a post about homemade skis in the Make blog.
I am an engineer who loves all things outdoors and snowboarding and skiing are some of my favorites. I read through the section on ski design and it is clear that some of the performance qualities of skis are affected by their basic geometry, but I am not not clear on how does torsional and longitudinal stiffness affect the behavior of either skis or snowboards. The reason I ask is that I have been studying composites for a while and by controlling the directions of the fibers in the composite one can tailor the stiffness to a certain extent.

-Rui
Rui

Ooops - forgot to finish my point

Post by Rui »

Anyway by tailoring a composite I believe that it would be possible to arrive at a design that has the "right" torsional vs. longitudinal stiffness, if there is such a thing.

ps: My skiing and snowboarding experience is very much limited to New England where most of my skiing and boarding is on groomed (icy) slopes. I've ventured a couple of times (quite a few years back) to Tuckermans Ravine but that's the extent of my back country skiing.
FREESKIER_FIVE-0

Post by FREESKIER_FIVE-0 »

Simply put, torsional flex is evil. It twists the ski under pressure so that the skier has less control, making the basic turn much harder and requiring more effort.

The flex along the length of the ski is more of personal preferance, and is also dependant upon conditions. It doesn't really matter. Im sure someone can explain this better.
bigKam
Site Admin

Post by bigKam »

Hi Rui,

Welcome to our forum and thanks for visiting SB.com -- we all hope you find it useful and fun.